When you try to send a photo or video from your camera roll in the iCloud photos library, an unwelcome pop-up opens, stopping you from sharing images or videos with your friends. This happened to me, and it took some time for me to resolve it.
Also Read: Are Apple Products Worth it?
Why Am I Unable to Share Photos iCloud?
One of the reasons you’re getting the ‘there was an error when preparing to share’ notice is because you’ve enabled Low Power Mode, which stops you from sharing images from your camera roll. As a consequence, the notice will continue to be sent to you.
Switch off Low Power Mode in your iPhone’s Settings app to share/send photos again. When you disable this setting, your iPhone will be able to transfer photos and videos without showing the unable to share there was an error while preparing to share the message.
Another possibility is that your device has a bug that prohibits your iPhone from sharing. Before you can transfer content to another device, your iPhone must first prepare to share it; if there is an issue at this step, it will notify you that there was an issue while preparing to share. Please try again later. In this case, you must eliminate the defect that is causing the problem.
Airdrop Error While Preparing to Share
When you try to airdrop a photo or video to a friend, the Unable to Share error message may display because your device has a software flaw that prohibits Airdrop from sharing. To use AirDrop, both you and the receiver must have Bluetooth and WiFi turned on – if everything is set up correctly but you’re still experiencing troubles, look into it.
Fix There Was An Error While Preparing to Share
Disable low power mode to resolve the unable to share issue and share your photographs through airdrop. Because low power mode is intended to conserve battery life, features such as AirDrop will not operate properly. You will be able to share your photos and videos if you turn it off.
Also Read: How to Remove Apple ID from iPhone/iPad without Password?
1. Turn Off Low Power Mode
The first step is to disengage low power mode. Low power mode is an iOS feature that allows you to save battery life. Because you conserve a lot of battery life, your iOS device’s capabilities are limited.
For example, you may be unable to share photographs from your iCloud collection since doing so requires too much battery power; hence, you are unable to do so while Low Power Mode is on.
To turn off Low Power Mode, do the following:
- Go to the Settings menu.
- To begin, press the Battery button.
- Disable Low Power Mode.
After you’ve finished this step, you may check to see whether you can share photos again. The error message should no longer appear.
2. Turn iCloud Photos Library Off/On
In this instance, the next step is to restart the iCloud Photos Library from the settings menu. This will repair any issues inside the pictures library and remove the error message indicating that you are unable to share your photos.
To turn off and then on your iCloud Photos library, follow these steps:
- Navigate to Settings.
- Simply click on your name Apple ID
- disable iCloud Photo Library
- Select ‘Remove from iPhone,’
- then restart it.
You can then check to see if the message has been deleted. It’s also possible that all of your photographs have disappeared. You do not need to be concerned since they will be restored in a short amount of time. This might take up to 48 hours if you have a big number of images and videos.
Also Read: How to Activate Tennis Channel on all Smart Devices? 
3. Turn off Optimize iPhone Storage
When you select Optimize Storage, all of your photographs are automatically moved to your iCloud whenever you stop using your iPhone while it is connected to WI-FI for a lengthy period of time. This means that your camera roll retains a compressed version of your images and movies in order to preserve storage space.
This means that when you share, you’re not sharing the actual photo or video that was saved in your iCloud, but rather a compressed version that was saved on your camera roll. If you try to share a compressed version of an image or video from your iPhone, you will receive the Unable to Share error because your iPhone lacks the original form of the file.
Enable Download and Keep Originals to save and send original images and videos rather than compressed ones. When you activate this, your camera roll will keep the original version of your photos and videos so you can share them using AirDrop.
Follow these steps to enable Download and Keep Original:
- Go to the Settings option.
- Choose Photos.
- Select the Download and Save Originals option.
It will take some time for your iPhone to recover your original photographs and movies from iCloud to your device. This might take many hours.